News - North Central - FCT Updated: May 19, 2024

Tinubu appoints spokesman Ngelale as special envoy on climate action

By Adekunle Obas
May 19, 2024

President Bola Tinubu has appointed his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale as Nigeria’s Special Presidential Envoy on Climate Action.

The appointment is part of the establishment of a 25-person committee to oversee the country's green economic initiatives.

According to a statement by the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation signed by its Director of Information and Public Relations, Segun Imohiosen, "Ngelale will serve in this role as part of a larger Presidential Committee, to be chaired by the President."

Ngelale will retain his current role as the Official Spokesperson of the President and Special Adviser on Media & Publicity while serving on the committee.

The statement titled "President Tinubu establishes a committee to oversee green economic initiatives, appoints Chief Ajuri Ngelale as special envoy on climate action," outlined the committee's mandate to coordinate and oversee all policies and programs related to climate action and green economic development.


Imohiosen explained that the Presidential Committee on Climate Action and Green Economic Solutions aims to "remove the constraints to coordination, foster a whole-of-government approach to climate-action programmes, provide an efficient governance architecture, and ensure that all relevant institutions in the sector are plugged into the President’s vision and are collectively implementing the Renewed Hope Agenda on climate action."

The committee, chaired by President Tinubu, includes the Minister of Environment, Mr. Balarabe Lawal, as Vice-Chairman, and Mr. Ajuri Ngelale as Secretary/Special Presidential Envoy.

Members are the CEOs of, InfraCorp, Lazarus Angbazo; National Council on Climate Change, Salisu Dahiru; Infrastructure Council Regulatory Commission, Michael Ohiani, Nigeria Investment Promotion Council, Aisha Rimi and National Social Investment Fund, Aminu Umar-Sadiq.

The committee also consists of the CEOs of the National Agency for the Great Green Wall, Yusuf Maina-Bukar, Energy Commission of Nigeria, Abdullahi Mustapha; Rural Electrification Agency, Abba Aliyu; CreditCorp, Uzoma Nwagba, the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure, Khalil Halilu Member, Solid Minerals Development Fund, Fatima Shinkafi; CBN Deputy Governor (Deputy Governor, Corporate Services Directorate) Mr Bala Bello; UN SE4ALL, Lolade Abiola; Member and an Adviser to the NCCC Adviser, Teni Majekodunmi.

Others are representatives of the Federal Ministries of FCT, Finance, Industry, Trade & Investment, Water Resources, and Agriculture & Food Security.


The committee also consists of representatives from the Federal Inland Revenue Service and the Nigeria Customs Service.

The OSGF outlined eight objectives of the Presidential Committee. They are to: “Identify, develop, and implement innovative non-oil & non-gas climate action initiatives.

“Coordinate all activities of relevant federal institutions towards the attainment of all agreed climate action and green economic objectives and non-oil/non-gas ambitions of the federal government.

“Collaborate with all relevant government, subnational governments, non-government, and civil society entities towards the attainment of the climate action objectives and ambitions of the federal government.

“Collaborate with national governments and multilateral institutions towards the attainment of the climate action objectives and carbon market ambitions of the federal government.


“Monitor, evaluate, and guide the progress of all climate action and renewable energy projects and activities of the federal government.

“Track and guide the implementation of initiatives and developments conducted by the Energy Transition Working Group."

Join our Telegram platform to get news update

0 Comment(s)




See this post in...