Akwa Ibom state

Akwa Ibom State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created November 26, 2021
  • Capital
  • LGA Chairman Hon Akaninyene Tommey Ikott
  • Land Area 83 sq mi (214 km2)
  • Population 364,489
  • GDP

Election Result

Eket 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Eket

Eket Local Government Area is one of the 31 local government areas in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. It is also one of the three geopolitical zones in the state, alongside Uyo and Ikot Ekpene senatorial districts.

The Eket Local Government Area covers approximately 176,000 square kilometers. The 2006 National Census reported a population of 172,856, while the Akwa Ibom State Ministry of Economic Development estimated the population as 218,438 in 2013, with a population density of 1,241/square km.

Eket LGA is bordered by Nsit Ubium, Esit Eket, Onna, and Ibeno local government areas. The towns and villages within Eket LGA include Afaha Ukwa, Esit Urua, Idung Offiong, Odio, Iko Ekwa, Effoi, Edebuk, and Ikot Udota. The Ekid dialect is widely spoken in the area.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign In to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings