Ebonyi state

Ebonyi State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created October 01, 1996
  • Capital Onueke
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area 324km sq
  • Population 133,625 ( 2006 census)
  • GDP

Election Result

Ezza South 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Ezza South

Ezza South local government area located in Ebonyi State, Southeastern Nigeria. The administrative headquarters of Ezza South Local Government Area is in the town of Onueke, which also serves as a central unification town for the Ezza nation and the headquarters of Ebonyi Central senatorial zone.

Ezza South was created on October 1, 1996, among other local government areas in the then-new Ebonyi state by the military government of General Sani Abacha. Before its creation, Ezza South was part of the old Ezza Local Government Area.

The people of Ezza South are predominantly of Igbo stock. They speak the Ezza dialect and the central Igbo language. Ezza South LGA has an area of 324. According to the 2006 census, Ezza South had a population of 133,625 inhabitants. The current estimated population is around 139,563 inhabitants.

Several towns and villages constitute Ezza South LGA, including Isieke, Achara-ikwo, Afiaelem, Echibokum, Ekebeligwe, Inyafor, Ndeagu, and Okposhi-mgbo. The postal code for Ezza South Local Government Area is 482.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign up to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings