Oyo state

Oyo State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created December 13, 2021
  • Capital
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area
  • Population
  • GDP

Election Result

Ibadan South-West 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Ibadan South-West

The Ibadan South West Local Government was carved out of the defunct Ibadan Municipal Government (IMG) on August 27, 1991, during the regime of the former Military President, General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida. It had a land mass of about 244.55 km⊃2;, making it one of the largest Local Governments in Oyo State.

The administration headquarters of the local government was located at Aleshinloye. Ibadan South West is a Local Government Area in Oyo State, Nigeria. The local government is divided into areas or districts, including Ring-Road, Oke-Ado, Oke-Bola Gege, Born-Photo, and Isale-Osi.

It has an area of 40 km⊃2;. As of the 2006 census, the population of Ibadan South West Local Government was 282,585. The area's postal code is 200, with postal addresses ranging from SW1 to SW12 depending on the ward.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign up to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings