Bayelsa state

Bayelsa State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created November 27, 2021
  • Capital Ogbia Town
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area 695 km2
  • Population 179,926
  • GDP

Election Result

Ogbia 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

Ogbia Town/City Collapse

History Of Ogbia

Ogbia Local Government Area situated in Bayelsa State, within the Niger Delta region of Nigeria. The headquarters of the Local Government is located in Ogbia Town at 4°39′00″N 6°16′00″E.

Ogbia Kingdom is composed of four clans: Abureni Clan, Anyama Clan, Oloibiri Clan, and Kolo Creek Clan. The people of Ogbia belong to the Ijaw (Ijo, Izon) Tribe. Ogbia has an area of 695 km⊃2;.

The population of Ogbia was over 179,926 as of the 2006 census, and the estimated population is around 184,915. The majority of the population belongs to the Ogbia sub-division of the Ijaw ethnic group. The Ogbia dialect of the Ijaw language is widely spoken in the LGA.

Important towns and villages within Ogbia LGA include Otuoke, Emakalakala, Imiringi, Oloibiri, Opume, Eboh, Elebele, and Obeduma. The postal code for Ogbia is 562.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign In to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings