Oyo state

Oyo State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created December 13, 2021
  • Capital
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area
  • Population
  • GDP

Election Result

Oyo West 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Oyo West

Oyo West Local Government was created on December 5, 1996, alongside others in the country, by the late General Sanni Abacha-led administration. It was carved out of the defunct Oyo Local Government, Kosobo, Oyo. The official commencement for all newly created Local Governments, including Oyo West, was in January 1997.

It shares boundaries with Atiba Local Government, Afijio and Akinyele Local Governments, Iseyin Local Government and a large river beside Ilora Grammar School, Oyo East and Ido Local Governments. The population of Oyo West Local Government was recorded at 136,236. Oyo West Local Government has an area of 526 km⊃2;. The postal code for the area is 211.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign In to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings