Bayelsa state

Bayelsa State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created November 27, 2021
  • Capital Sagbama Town
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area 945 km2 (365 sq mi)
  • Population
  • GDP

Election Result

Sagbama 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Sagbama

Sagbama Local Government Area is one of the eight local government areas in Bayelsa State, located in the Southern part of Nigeria. The headquarters of Sagbama LGA is in the town of Sagbama. Sagbama LGA covers an area of 945 square kilometers.

The population of Sagbama LGA was 187,146 at the 2006 census. The current estimated population is put at 241,603 inhabitants. Sagbama LGA consists of districts such as Ofoni, Aduku, Sagbama, Ossiama, OFONI, Odoni, Agbere, Asamabiri, Angalabiri, Ebedebiri, Osekwenike, Agoro, Toru Ebeni, and Trofani. The LGA is predominantly occupied by members of the Ijaw ethnic group. The Ijaw language is commonly spoken in the LGA. The postal code for the area is 561.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign In to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings