Bayelsa state

Bayelsa State Map - Local Government areas

  • Date Created November 27, 2021
  • Capital Oporoma (Osokoma)
  • LGA Chairman
  • Land Area 2,682 km2 (1,036 sq mi)
  • Population 319,413 (2006 Census)
  • GDP

Election Result

Southern Ijaw 2023 Presidential Election Results

  • Parties
  • Candidates
  • Votes
View Full Result

History Of Southern Ijaw

Southern Ijaw Local Government Area is a Local Government Area in Bayelsa State, located in the Southern part of Nigeria. The headquarters of Southern Ijaw LGA is in the town of Oporoma (or Osokoma) in the north of the area. Southern Ijaw LGA covers an extensive area of 2,682 square kilometers. The area has a coastline of approximately 60 km on the Bight of Benin.

The population of Southern Ijaw LGA was 319,413 at the 2006 census. The current estimated population is put at 249,558 inhabitants. The people of Southern Ijaw are known as Izon. Major towns and villages in Southern Ijaw LGA include Igbomotoro, Peremabiri, Opuama, Eniwari, Angiama, Diebu, Ondewari, and Aziama. The postal code for the area is 560.


No one can narrate our story more authentically than we can. We aim to see our community prosper and create a precise historical account for future generations. You have the opportunity to enhance Allnews Nigeria Explore by actively participating in our historical documentation. Earn points by contributing to the progress of our Nigerian community Documentation.

Sign up to begin


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings