• Politics
  • Updated: March 20, 2023

2023 Governorship Election: Seven Re-Elected State Governors

2023 Governorship Election: Seven Re-Elected State Governors

The 2023 Nigeria gubernatorial election was conducted on March 18, 2023, amid a low turnout of voters, thuggery, vote buying, ballot snatching and other vices. 

However, Nigerians still braved the odds to vote for their desired candidates, while hoping that their votes will count and elected leaders will serve as promised in their manifesto. 

Results for the 2023 governorship election are coming in bit by bit and it is necessary to keep our readers updated as these results are being announced by INEC. 

While all the positions being contested are important, we cannot deny the fact that the governorship election supersedes all other positions that were contested on March 18, 2023. 

This article will focus on incumbent governors who desired a second term in office, hence, they re-contested and have been voted in again to lead the affairs of their states.

1. Governor Dapo Abiodun Of Ogun State

Governor Dapo Abiodun, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was declared the winner of Saturday's Governorship Election in Ogun State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to the results announced by the State Returning Officer for the election, Professor Kayode Adebowale, Abiodun received 276,298 votes, while his closest rival, Hon. Ladipupo Adebutu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), received 262,383 votes, and the second runner up, Biyi Otegbeye of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), received 94,754 votes.

The results also revealed that Abiodun won in 12 local governments while Adebutu won in eight.

However, the PDP has petitioned the INEC, requesting that the commission order a rerun in some polling units where results were cancelled due to BVAS failure and violence.

2. Governor Jide Sanwo-Olu Of Lagos State

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos state has been declared the winner of Saturday's governorship election.

The INEC returning officer declared him the winner at 01.15 a.m. on Monday.

The Governor received 762,134 votes and won 19 of the state's 20 local government councils.

Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party received 312 329 votes, while Olajide Adediran of the PDP received 62,449 votes.

3. Governor Mai Mala Buni Of Yobe State

The incumbent governor of Yobe State, Hon. Mai Mala Buni, was declared the winner of the governorship election on Sunday in Damaturu by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Professor Umar Pate, the returning officer, announced the results, saying Buni of the APC polled 317,113 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Alhaji Sheriff Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who received 104,259 votes.

Garba Umar of the New Nigerian People's Party (NNPP) finished third with 14,246 votes.

"I Professor Umar Pate hereby certify that Mai Mala Buni, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner of the election," the returning officer said after announcing the candidates' votes.

4. Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq Of Kwara State

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Alhaji AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, the governor of Kwara State, the winner of the state's governorship election in 2023 on Sunday.

Governor AbdulRazaq, who ran on the APC platform, received 226,956 votes to win the election and be re-elected to a second term in office.

Shuaibu Yaman Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) received 123,118 votes, while Hakeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) received 17,321.

In the election results announced by the INEC Returning Officer for the polls, Professor Isaac Itodo, Vice Chancellor, University of Markurdi, Benue state, the governor won all local government areas in the state.

5. Governor Seyi Makinde Of Oyo State

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Governor Seyi Makinde the election's victor. 

The incumbent governor defeated his opponents, which included Akinwale Tayo of the Labour Party (LP) and Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), a sitting senator. 

According to the results of the 33 local governments in the South-West states, Makinde received 563,756 votes, defeating his closest competitor who received 256,685.

Makinde Oluseyi Abiodun of the PDP, having satisfied the legal requirement, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected by the Returning Officer, Prof. Adebayo Simeon on this day, March 19, 2023, according to INEC's state returning officer, Prof. Adebayo Simeon.

6. Governor Inuwa Yahaya- Gombe State

Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya, the governor of Gombe State and the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for the 2023 governorship election, won the majority of the votes cast in the state's 11 local government areas to secure victory.

Inuwa received a total of 342, 821 votes, according to Professor Maimuna Waziri, the vice chancellor of the federal university in Gashua, who announced the winner on Sunday.

Inuwa was re-elected as the state's governor.

She went on to say that Khamisu Mailantarki of the New Nigeria People's Party (NNPP) received 19,861 votes, while Mohammed Barde of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) received 233,131 votes overall.

7. Gov. Abdullahi Sule Of Nasarawa State

Despite all odds, Abdullahi Sule, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, was named the victor of Nasarawa State's governorship election last Saturday.

With a slim margin of about 64,000 votes over his closest rival, Governor Sule was re-elected in seven of the state's 13 local government areas.

He garnered 347,209 votes.

According to the results announced by the collation officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Prof. Tanko Ishaya, he defeated his closest rival, David Ombugadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got a total of 283,016 votes.

Abdullahi Maidoya, a candidate for the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), finished third overall with 11,726 votes.

Mohammed Alfa Nyas, the Social Democratic Party's (SDP) nominee, received 9.003 votes.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings