• News - North West - Jigawa
  • Updated: January 19, 2023

2023: Scores Of PDP Members Dump Party For APC In Jigawa

2023: Scores Of PDP Members Dump Party For APC In Jigawa


In another wave of defection, scores of members of the People's Democratic Party (PDP) have dumped the party for the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Jigawa State.

The defectors from Sabaru, Madarawa and Dabaza wards were received by the APC Senatorial Candidate for the Jigawa Northeast zone, Walin Kazaure.

Kazaure while addressing the defectors noted that the decision to change party was not an easy one, adding that their contributions to the APC would be valued by the party. 

This was contained in a statement signed and issued on Thursday by the State's Commissioner for Special Duties, Auwal D. Sankara.

According to Sankara, Kazaure said: "As we move forward, APC would carry all members along in party activities, regardless of their previous affiliations. 

"We are a strong and united party, and by working together, we can achieve great things for our community and our country."

Also speaking on behalf of the defectors, the former chairman of the PDP in Dabaza ward, Abubakar Sani said their decision was influenced by the lack of credible leadership in the party.

“The primary reason for this decision is the lack of credible leadership within our former party. 

"We felt that the leadership was not effectively representing the interests and concerns of the people, and there was a lack of accountability and transparency.

“Additionally, we were deeply troubled by the prevalence of favouritism within the party. 

"We saw that certain individuals were being given preferential treatment and were being elevated above others based on personal connections rather than merit."

Speaking on why they chose the APC amongst others, he further stated: “We believe that the All Progressives Congress is a party that truly represents the interests of the people and that is committed to fairness and transparency. 

"We are excited to be a part of this party and look forward to working together to bring about positive change for our country.”

In another development, 120 members of the PDP defected to the APC in Gumel LGA of the state. 

The card-carrying defectors included Mustapha Idris, Ibrahim Mohammed, Mahmud Ibrahim, Isma’il Suleman, Aminu Sani, Arma Amana, Yakubu Mohd, Usama Abba, Fiddausi Isah, Khadijah Sulaiman amongst others in the LGA. 

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings