• Politics
  • Updated: May 28, 2022

2023: Teslim Folarin Declared Oyo APC Guber Candidate

Teslim Folarin, a three-term senator representing Oyo Central Senatorial District, has been declared the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) gubernatorial primary election.

Folarin defeated five other aspirants on Friday to emerge the APC candidate as he garnered 954 votes while his closest challenger, Adebayo Adelabu garnered 327 votes.

Also Azeez Adeduntan had 2 votes, Engineer Akeem Alao had 6 votes, Barrister Hakeem Agbaje had 16 votes while 11 votes were counted invalid.

Earlier, the APC gubernatorial primary election was postponed from Thursday, May 26 to Friday, May 27 due to security concerns.

Six aspirants had obtained the nomination and expression of interest forms and were screened by the party.

Four aspirants were present at the venue of the primary while another aspirant, Bayo Adelabu was absent.

Earlier, Chief Niyi Akintola had pulled out of the primary siting allegations of delegate list tampering.

Akintola has also petitioned the leadership of the party stating that any primary election held on another day aside the day announced by the party is invalid.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Francis Ezediuno
Francis Ezediuno

Francis Ezediuno is a journalist who is self thought on application of social media in news gatherin...

More From this Author

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...