Share with your friends
  • Entertainment - Celebrity Gist - Awards
  • Updated: June 17, 2024

2024 Tony Awards: Alicia Keys, Angelina Jolie, others win at event

 2024 Tony Awards: Alicia Keys, Angelina Jolie, others win a

Renowned singer Alicia Keys, legendary Hollywood movie actress, Angelina Jolie and Daniel Radcliffe bagged their first Tony Awards wins at the 2024 edition of the award at Lincoln Center on Sunday.

Angelina Jolie’s production, “The Outsiders: A New Musical,” clinched the award for Best Musical, marking a milestone in her career and putting her halfway to achieving EGOT status.

Daniel Radcliffe was honoured with the award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for his performance in “Merrily We Roll Along.”

However, the evening’s biggest winner was David Adjmi’s film adaptation, “Stereophonic,” which took home five awards from its 13 nominations.

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins’ play “Appropriate” garnered three awards, while Alicia Keys’ musical “Hell’s Kitchen” secured two of its ten nominations.

Special Tony Awards for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre were presented to Jack O’Brien and George C. Wolfe. Other Special Tony Award recipients included Abe Jacob, Alex Edelman, and Nikiya Mathis.

The Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre were awarded to Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, the Dramatists Guild Foundation, Judith O. Rubin, The Samuel J. Friedman Health Center for the Performing Arts, Wendall K. Harrington, and The Wilma Theater.

Some of the Winners include:

Best Play

Winner: “Stereophonic”
Nominees: “Mary Jane,” “Mother Play,” “Prayer for the French Republic,” “Jaja’s African Hair Braiding,” “Republic”

Best Musical

Winner: “The Outsiders”
Nominees: “Suffs,” “Water for Elephants,” “Hell’s Kitchen,” “Illinois”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play

Winner: Sarah Paulson for “Appropriate”
Nominees: Betsy Aidem for “Prayer for the French Republic,” Jessica Lange for “Mother Play,” Rachel McAdams for “Mary Jane,” Amy Ryan for “Doubt: A Parable”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical

Winner: Jonathan Groff for “Merrily We Roll Along”
Nominees: Brody Grant for “The Outsiders,” Dorian Harewood for “The Notebook,” Brian d’Arcy James for “Days of Wine and Roses,” Eddie Redman for “Stereophonic”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Winner: Brian MacDevitt and Hana S. Kim for “The Outsiders”
Nominees: Brandon Stirling Baker for “Illinois,” Justin Peck for “Illinois” (WINNER), Camille A. Brown for “Hell’s Kitchen,” Jesse Robb and Shana Carroll for “Water for Elephants,” Rick Kuperman and Jeff Kuperman for “The Outsiders,” Annie-B Parson for “Here Lies Love”

Best Orchestrations

Winner: Jonathan Tunick for “Merrily We Roll Along”
Nominees: Timo Andres for “Illinois,” Tom Kitt and Adam Blackstone for “Hell’s Kitchen,” Will Butler and Justin Craig for “Stereophonic,” Justin Levine, Matt Hinkley, and Jamestown Revival (Jonathan Clay and Zach Chance) for “The Outsiders”.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings