• News - South South - Bayelsa
  • Updated: April 18, 2024

Bayelsa lawmakers approve 13 commissioner nominees

Bayelsa lawmakers approve 13 commissioner nominees

Bayelsa State Governor, Duoye Diri

Lawmakers in the Bayelsa State House of Assembly have screened and confirmed 13 of the 14 commissioner nominees sent to it by Governor Douye Diri.

Allnews.ng last week reported that Gov Diri sent a list of 14 commissioner nominees, including three former assembly members and eight immediate past commissioners, to the Bayelsa State House of Assembly for screening.

The screened nominees include immediate past commissioners, Moses Teibowei (Work and Infrastructure), Biriyai Dambo (Attorney General of Justice), Maxwell Ebibai (Finance), Dr Emelah Gentle (Education), Brodrick Preye (Special Duty East), and Dr Ebieri Jones (Mineral Resources).

Daniel Igali, the immediate Commissioner for Youths and Sports, who is also a nominee, was absent, while Mrs Koku Ebiuwou Obiyai, a former Assembly member, was asked to bow and leave.

Others are George Flint, Komuko Akari Kharin, Perepuighe Biewari, Peter Afagha, Mrs Elizabeth Bidei and a former council chairman, Michael Magbisa.

The commissioner nominees list elicited some form of uproar across the state, as most of the returnee nominees were perceived as people who performed below expectations. Governor Diri dissolved his cabinet a week after his inauguration on February 14.

The Speaker presided over the screening, which took place at the State House of Assembly complex, Yenagoa, the state capital.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings