• Politics
  • Updated: May 12, 2020

Buhari Nominates 42 Ambassadors, Others [See Names]


President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated 42 career diplomats, which became public knowledge when he asked the Senate to confirm them as ambassadors.

He forwarded the names of the nominees to the Senate seeking confirmation of their appointments “in accordance to section 171(2)(1c) and Subsection 4 of the 1999 constitution”.

His letter was read out by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, at the commencement of plenary on Tuesday.

The nominees and their states are as follows: C. O Nwachukwu (Abia), A. Kefas (Adamawa), R. U Brown (Akwa Ibom), G. A, Odidibo (Anambra), O. C Onowu (Anambra), Y. S Sulieman (Bauchi), E. S Agbana (Bayelsa), B. B.M Okoyen (Bayelsa), G. M Okoko (Benue), A. M Garba (Borno) and M. I Bashir (Borno).

Others are: M. O Abang (Cross River), A. E Alote (Cross River), G. E Edokpa (Edo), A. M Maduwike (Enugu), Adamu Lamua (Gombe), Innocent Iwejuo (Imo), A. S Abubakar (Jigawa), Y. A Ahmed (Jigawa), S. D Umar (Kaduna), A. A Sule (Kano), G. Y Hamza (Kano), N. Rini (Katsina), Ahmed Rimawa (Katsina), M. Manu (Kebbi) and I. R Ocheni (Kogi).

Also appointed are: I. A Yusuf (Kogi), M. Abdulraheem (Kwara), W. A Adedeji (Lagos), A. U Ogah (Nasarawa), A. A Musa (Niger), N. A Kolo (Niger), H. O Olaniyon (Ogun), A. R Adejola (Ogun), O. E Awe (Ondo), O. O Aluko (Osun), E. A, Alatishe (Osun), V. A Adeleke (Oyo), M. S Adamu (Plateau), I. N Charles (Rivers), M. Ifu (Taraba) and B. B Hamman (Yobe).

The president also sent the names of two nominees to fill existing vacancies as non-executive directors of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, NDIC.

They are: Diana Okonta (South-south) and Yiana Kali (North-east).

Buhari also appointed four members of the board of the Nigerian Law Reform Commission. He sent their names in compliance with section 2(2) of the Nigeria law reform act no 7 of 1979.

They include: Jummai Audi, chairman; Edele Chima, commissioner; Bassey Dan, commissioner and Mohammed Ibrahim, commissioner.

The Senate Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi, thereafter, moved a motion relying on order 1(b) of the Senate standing rules for the upper chamber to expedite action on the president’s request for the confirmation of the NDIC nominees.

In his ruling, Senate President Lawan harped on the need for the upper chamber to “fast-track the process” to enable committees to screen the nominees.

He, thereafter, referred the confirmation request of the NDIC nominees to the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance, and Financial Institutions.

The Committee was given two weeks to conclude the assignment and report back to the Senate.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...