Would you like to receive notifications for Breaking news and updates?

  • World - Europe
  • Updated: Jun 28, 2020

Coronavirus: EU Hesitant To Reopen Borders

Coronavirus: EU Hesitant To Reopen Borders


Kindness Udoh

A severely bored individual with a knack for makin...

The European Union (EU) is indecisive on what countries to put on its list of "safe countries", as it flirts with the idea of opening its borders for the recommencement of flight operations and tourist activities.

After a series of extended talks, diplomats decided, concertedly, to produce a list of 14 countries that are safe to allow people travel from into Europe to their respective governments, making sure to exclude the United States.

Speaking with AFP, a source from the EU said, “There are still ongoing consultations, which will continue until Monday.

READ ALSO: Hong Kong Security Law: US Restricts Visas For Chinese Officials

“There is no visibility on where this will go, but the presidency still hopes to put this matter to a vote on Monday.”

The fourteen countries that made it to the list are Uruguay, Morocco, Georgia, Algeria, Canada, Serbia, South Korea, Australia, Tunisia, Montenegro, Japan, Rwanda, Thailand and New Zealand.

Chinese nationals will be allowed into Europe but only if the same courtesy will be extended to Europeans by the Chinese government.

Restriction set in place in European countries after the outbreak will be slowly lifted from July 1, with the declining infection rates recorded on the continent.



Please to give a comment.


Politics - Chukwuemeka Joseph - Aug 07, 2020

Edo Decides 2020: Buhari Endorses Ize-Iyamu


Jun 26, 2020

Which Of these female celebrities would you consider the most fashionable?

Which Of these female celebrities would you consider the mos

Nancy Isime 10.61 %

Mercy Aigbe 63.64 %

Toke Makinwa 12.12 %

Toni Tones 9.09 %

Sharon Ooja 4.55 %

7 days 16 hours remain