• Sports - Other Sports
  • Updated: January 31, 2021

Cricket: South South Wins National U-17 Female Championship

Cricket: South South Wins National U-17 Female Championship

Team South South has won the second edition of the National Under-17 Female Cricket championship.

The three-day tournament, organised by the Nigeria Cricket Federation and sponsored by Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC), was held at Edo Boys High School Adolor, Benin.

South South was up against North Central in the finals of the tournament on Sunday.

READ ALSO: PwC Nigeria To Sponsor National U-17 Cricket Tournament

North Central won the toss and elected to bat, scoring 59 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs.

South South resumed the second innings, scoring 60 runs for the loss of three in 8.1 overs, and won by seven wickets.

At the end of the game, Peter Ewise, coach of Team South South, said he was not surprised at the team’s victory.

“I thank God that we won this tournament. We have been training so hard for it and we won.

“We have a very committed and hard-working team and am not surprised at the team’s victory and performance in this event.

“All the teams that participated in this competition are good but I guess we were better,” Ewise added.

Benedict Ekanem, a representative of the Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, who was present at the event, said the ministry would continue to support the federation in achieving its goal of developing the game at the grassroots.

Also, Uyi Akpata, the vice president of NCF,  who represented the NCF president, Yahaya Ukwenya, said the partnership between the federation and PwC has helped discover lots of talents.

“Three years ago when we (NCF) came on board, we were quite clear in identifying five strategic imperatives.

“One of them is developing the game at the grassroots and by extension female cricket.

“We are beginning to see the dividend of that decision and are marveled at the level of play by the kids and the talents harnessed so far,” he said.

Meanwhile, South East were awarded third place while South West and North West were fourth and fifth respectively.

However, other individual awards were presented to players at the tournament.

Umeh Promise of South South- Man of the Match.

Piety Lucky of South South – Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Rejoice Assan of South South – Best bowler with six wickets out.

Rukayat Abdulrazak of North Central – Best behaved player

Lilan Ude of South East – Best Batsman.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings