• Politics
  • Updated: February 11, 2024

Edo poll: PDP holds LG delegates election

Edo poll: PDP holds LG delegates election

On Saturday, the Edo chapter of the PDP conducted a local government delegates election ahead of its February 22 governorship primary.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria, the delegates’ congress took place simultaneously across the 18 local government areas of the state, except in Etsako Central.

The party had, on February 4, conducted the ward delegates election, and Etsako Central was cancelled due to the alleged abduction of nine electoral officers.

The correspondent who monitored the Oredo Local Government Area election reports that 35 delegates voted while one was absent.

The congress was conducted by two PDP officials, namely Owolabi Kayode and Farida Umar, from the national headquarters and monitored by officials of the INEC in the presence of some security agencies.

At the end of the exercise, Osaro Idah emerged as the elected delegate for the Oredo Local Government Area. The other two aspirants, Martins Osakue and Aguebor Sunday, were absent.

Kayode, who declared Idah the elected delegate, commended the delegates for peacefully conducting themselves.

At Ikpoba Okha Local Government Area, Solomon Idehen emerged as the winner with 28 votes.

Addressing reporters at the Western Boys High School, Yusuf Bukhari, a member of the PDP, described the congress as the best conducted by the party since 1999.

He said it was monitored by INEC officials and those of the PDP national electoral officers from the party’s national headquarters.

According to him, INEC needs to copy how PDP has conducted its delegate so Nigeria can move forward.

Also, at Eghosa Grammer School, the designated venue for Egor Local Government, the exercise was peaceful as party faithful elected Odion Olaye to represent them.

A chieftain of PDP in the area, Festus Omoregbe, lauded the delegates’ election and described it as the best conducted by the party.

Eighteen delegates are to be elected across the 18 local government areas in the state, with one delegate each.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings