• News - South West - Ekiti
  • Updated: June 06, 2023

Ekiti Assembly Elects Aribasoye As Speaker

Adeoye Aribasoye, the lawmaker representing Ikole State Constituency II in the Ekiti State House of Assembly has emerged as Speaker.

Until his election, he served as the Chief Whip of the Sixth Assembly and also as the Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs.

Aribasoye emerged unopposed on Tuesday.

This followed the proclamation of the 26-member Seventh Assembly by Governor Biodun Oyebanji in line with the constitutional provision.

Also, the lawmaker from Ado-Ekiti Constituency II, Bolaji Olagbaju emerged as the Deputy Speaker unopposed in the House with a vote of twenty-four from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and two from the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Femi Akindele, representing Irepodun/Ifelodun State Constituency nominated Aribasoye for Speaker and was seconded by Lateef Akanle from Ekiti East State Constituency II.

The session was presided over by the Clerk of the House, Tola Esan.

Speaking, the new Speaker commended his colleagues and leadership of the APC for the confidence reposed in him.

He promised to run the legislative arm towards the overall development of the state.

Aribasoye who was first elected into the House in 2019 explained that he would remain dedicated and committed to the responsibilities of the lawmakers in the area of making laws, oversight and support to the executive arm of the government.

He assured the state governor, Abiodun Oyebanji that the House would initiate laws that would assist in achieving his six-point agenda towards a prosperous state and socio-economic development.

In the selection of other principal officers, the Speaker announced Tolulope Ige (Ekiti South West 2) as the new Majority Leader, while the Deputy Majority Leader is the lawmaker from Ido-Osi Constituency two, Oluyomi Ayorinde as nominated by the APC.

The member representing Efon, Bosede Olowookere emerged as the Chief Whip, and her counterpart from Emure constituency, Maryam Ogunlade was picked as the Deputy Chief Whip.

The SDP with just two members picked Dele Ogunsakin, from Ekiti East Constituency I as the Minority Leader.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Francis Ezediuno
Francis Ezediuno

Francis Ezediuno is a journalist who is self thought on application of social media in news gatherin...

More From this Author


medview airline plc Services

Medview airline plc was founded in 2007 as a charter airline, mainly operating H...

associated bus company plc Services

Associated Bus Company (ABC) which was founded on the 5th of august 1991 is a le...


0 Comment(s)


See this post in...