• News - North Central - FCT
  • Updated: May 08, 2023

Election Tribunal: Names Of Justices Revealed

Election Tribunal: Names Of Justices Revealed

The names of the justices who will be presiding over the petitions at the Presidential Petition Court (PEPC) have been revealed.

The election tribunal resumed its sitting on Monday, with five political parties and their candidates contesting the outcome of the February 25 presidential election on grounds of non-compliance with the electoral laws as well as the guidelines of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The names of the justices are Chief Registrar of the Court of Appeal, Haruna Tsammani, Justice Stephen Adah of the Court of Appeal Asaba division, Justice Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf, Court of Appeal also of Asaba Division, Justice Boloukuoromo Ugoh of Kano division, Justice Abba Mohammed of Ibadan Court of Appeal.

Before the court resumed at 10.30 am, the five-man panel of justices led by the presiding justice of the PEPC, Justice Haruna Tsammani, assured that justice will be served.

“We are determined to look at the matter dispassionately and give justice to whoever deserves justice”, Tsammani said.

He added that they would consider the substance of each case over technicalities so that ”whoever leaves here will be satisfied that justice has been done”.

Tsammani also warned against unnecessary applications that could delay proceedings, revealing that the cases will be alternated until the pre-hearing comes to an end.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings