• News - South West - Lagos
  • Updated: November 17, 2020

#EndSARS Protesters Release Names Of Lekki Shooting Victims

#EndSARS Protesters Release Names Of  Lekki Shooting Victims

EndSARS protesters have released a list containing victims involved in the Lekki shooting on October 20, 2020.

AllNews recalls that men in army uniforms invaded a peaceful protest at the Lekki toll gate in Lagos last month. The invasion in its wake left some protesters dead and others injured.

Weeks after the attack, three #EndSARS protesters have disclosed the identities of 22 persons that allegedly suffered gunshot wounds during the October 20 shootings by the military and police at the Lekki Toll Gate.

The #EndSARS protesters alleged several others were shot dead by soldiers even while they fled or tried to find cover and others were killed by policemen who came after the soldiers left, according to them.

According to the protesters, some corpses were taken away, some to Reddington Hospital, Lekki, where one of the doctors named a man whose head was blown open by a bullet as “John Doe”.

READ ALSO: Nigerian Newspapers: Top 10 Headlines Tues, Nov 17th, 2020

The three #EndSARS protesters, Perpetual Kamsiyuchukwu, Dabiraoluwa Adeyinka Honey Ayuku, and Samuel Isah, listed the 22 names in their November 11 petitions to the Lagos State Judicial Panel of Inquiry probing SARS brutality and the alleged shooting of #EndSARS protesters at the Lekki Toll Gate. The petitions will be heard today, Tuesday, November 17.

Adesina Ogunlana, a former Chairman of the Ikeja Branch of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), who is the lawyer of the #EndSARS protesters, submitted the list to the panel. The victims’ names comprise 21 males – including a 12-year-old boy, Bakare Michael – and a female, Abiola Esther.

The 20 other victims of the Lekki shooting are RFK (Male); Lekan Williams (M); Felix Nandip (M); Adams Moses; Akindele Damilola(M); Samuel Iordyom (Male); Emmanuel John (M); Isaac Amede (M); Charles Uzoma (M); Raymond Simon Abah (M).

Others are Samuel Anthony (M); Andrew Ugochukwu (M); Bobby Maduka (M); Moses Oyi (M); Emmanuel George (M); Nelson Andrew (M); Sheriff Akande (M); Chigozie Chukwujeku (M); Shoba Muhammed (M); and Damilola Adedayo (M).

Apart from the three #EndSARS protesters, Ogunlana is also the counsel of six other #EndSARS protesters to the panel. They are Victoria Oniru, Olugbe Ofoluwafo, James Akhigbe, and Nicholas Anthony Okpe.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian Army repeated its rejection of claims that soldiers killed unarmed #EndSARS protesters at the rally, saying its soldiers fired blank bullets.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings