• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: May 27, 2023

Erling Haaland Dominates Premier League Awards in Debut Season

Erling Haaland Dominates Premier League Awards in Debut Seas

Erling Haaland

Erling Haaland has etched his name in football history by becoming the first player ever to be crowned both the Premier League Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in his inaugural season with Manchester City.

Haaland's impact has been nothing short of extraordinary, amassing a staggering tally of 36 goals in just 35 league appearances. His goal-scoring prowess shattered a 29-year-old record for the most goals in a single Premier League campaign.

Not only has Haaland showcased his scoring abilities, but he has also contributed eight assists, playing a pivotal role in Manchester City's triumphant third consecutive Premier League title run. Furthermore, his efforts have propelled the team to the finals of the FA Cup and Champions League, set to be held in June.

With a total of 44 goal involvements, Haaland shares the record for the highest number of goal contributions in a season, matching Thierry Henry's remarkable achievement during the 2002/03 season while playing for Arsenal.

This marks the fourth consecutive season that a Manchester City player has claimed the prestigious Player of the Year accolade, following Kevin De Bruyne's victories in 2019/20 and 2021/22, as well as Ruben Dias' triumph in 2020/21. Vincent Kompany also secured the award in the 2011/12 season.

Kevin De Bruyne, once again nominated for this year's award, showcased his creative brilliance by leading the assists table with an impressive total of 16 assists.

The shortlist for this year's award featured notable talents, including Arsenal's Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard, Manchester United's Marcus Rashford, Tottenham's Harry Kane, and Newcastle's Kieran Trippier.

Haaland's exceptional performances have not gone unnoticed, as he has already claimed the 2023 Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year award with an overwhelming 80% of the vote. Additionally, he remains in contention for the prestigious PFA Player of the Season award.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings