• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: November 24, 2022

Five Nations With The Most FIFA World Cup Titles In History

In the history of the FIFA World Cup, only a few countries have been able to achieve the feat of winning the most titles.

The prestigious tournament which is ongoing is renowned for its exceptionality in the football world and nations will always do their best to win it. 

Below are the five nations with the most FIFA World Cup titles in history. 

5. France (Two-Time Winner)

After winning the 2018 World Cup in Russia, France became the defending champion of the FIFA World Cup. 

The team included elite young players like Kylian Mbappe and world-class players like Paul Pogba.

They defeated Croatia in the finals in 2018 to win their second world cup title.

The first time France won the World Cup was in 1998. The nation was hosting the biggest competition at the time.

4. Argentina (Two-Time Time Winner)

In its history, Argentina has also won two World Cups. The renowned competition was won for the first time by the South Americans in 1978.

They were the host as well and they won amid the support of their home fans. They won 3-1 over the Netherlands in the finals.

Their second championship, though, was won in 1986. Argentina defeated West Germany 3-2 in the World Cup final, which was held in Mexico that year.

3. Italy (Four-Time Winner)

Italy has won the FIFA World Cup four times in a row, the first time in 1934 when it was only in its second edition and played there.

To repeat its victory and defend its world championship title, the government declared the 1938 competition and Italy won. 

After that, it took Italy 44 years to win its third World Cup trophy.

In the 1982 competition's championship game, they defeated West Germany 3-1 thanks to goals from Marco Tardelli, Paolo Rossi, and Alessandro Altobelli. Italy last won the World Cup in 2006.

In a gripping final match against France, Zinedine Zidane was sent off for a violent offence against Marco Materazzi.

On penalties, the Azzurri won the championship. However, Italy did not qualify for the 2018 and the upcoming 2022 World Cup.

2. Germany (Four-Time Winner) 

After Italy, Germany is the only country to have won the World Cup four times.

Germany has historically dominated the competition, winning in 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014.

In addition to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, which it hosted as a small country, Germany won three of the four World Cups.

The most recent victory was truly noteworthy because it saw the Germans overcome the Brazilian hosts by a score of 7-1 en route to the championship.

In the championship game versus Argentina, Mario Gotze famously scored the game-winning goal in the 113th minute.

1. Brazil (Five-Time Winner)

Brazil has won the most FIFA World Cup championships of any nation. They are the most dominant team in the competition with five victories.

Pele represented the Selecao in the 1958 World Cup, where he scored twice in the final match to help his nation win its first championship.

The World Cup was won by Brazil in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002.

The Selecao hopes to become the first South American nation to triumph in the World Cup in Qatar in 20 years.

Brazil has additionally participated in each World Cup since it began.


Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Rasheed Olajide Awoniyi
Rasheed Olajide Awoniyi

Rasheed Olajide Awoniyi is a Master's degree holder in International Affairs and Diplomacy, A Ba...

More From this Author



The Brazil national football team represents Brazil in men's international football and is administered by the Brazilian Football Confed...


The Germany national football team represents Germany in men's international football and played its first match in 1908. The team is go...


The Italy national football team has officially represented Italy in international football since their first match in 1910. The squad is un...

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...