• News - North West - Sokoto
  • Updated: April 24, 2024

Gov Aliyu dethrones 15 traditional rulers in Sokoto

Gov Aliyu dethrones 15 traditional rulers in Sokoto

The Executive Governor of Sokoto State, Ahmed Aliyu has approved the dethronement of 15 District Heads over alleged insubordination, land racketeering, aiding insecurity and conversion of public properties.

The press secretary to the Governor, Abubakar Bawa, announced the dethronement on Tuesday evening in a statement.

The District Heads dethroned include: Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tulluwa, lllela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu, and Giyawa district.

Others were those appointed by the former Governor Aminu Tambuwal at the tail end of his administration.

“They were dropped due to the nature of their appointment which was according to the statement was haphazardly done and rejection by their subjects.

“They are Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gongono, Sarkin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Torankavwa,” added the statement.

 The statement further said the cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi have been  recommended for further investigations.

Similarly the Sarkin Yakin Binji a senior counselor in the Sultanate Council was however transfered to Bunkari while the District Head of Sabon Birni was deployed to Gatawa.

Bawa also in a statement noted that, seven other District heads have been retained by the government.

 They include Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar III Churoman Sokoto, Alhaji Ibrahim Dasuki Maccido Barayar Zaki, Abubakar Salame Sarkin Arewan Salame,  and Aminu Bello Sarkin Yamman Balle.

Others are Mahmoud Yabo Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe, Mukhtari Tukur Ambarura Sarkin Gabas Ambarura and Malam Isa Rarah Sarkin Gabas of Rarah District.

The district heads of Tsaki and Asare were also retained, while Abdulkadir Mujeli who appointed as Magajin Garin Sokoto was asked to go back to his former position as Sarkin Rafin Gumbi district.

All this accirding the statement was as a result of recommendations of the Committee on the Review of  appointments of Traditional rulers, Renaming, of Tertiary institutions and the Dissolution of Governing Councils of State Parastatals set up by the state government.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings