• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: August 17, 2023

Haaland, De Bruyne, Saka, Others Shortlisted For PFA Award

Haaland, De Bruyne, Saka, Others Shortlisted For PFA Award

Kevin De Bruyne with Erling Haaland

The trio of Erling Haaland, Kevin De Bruyne and Bukayo Saka have all been nominated for the PFA Players' Player of the Year award.

They are joined on the six-player shortlist for the peer-voted award by Martin Odegaard, John Stones plus former Tottenham striker Harry Kane, now with Bayern Munich.

Haaland is the heavy favourite to claim the accolade, having made a huge impact in his first season in the Premier League.

The 23-year-old Norwegian striker smashed the English top-flight single season goalscoring record with 36 goals in 35 matches and went on to score 52 goals in all competitions as City won the Premier League, Champions League and FA Cup.

City captain De Bruyne, the PFA Player of the Year in 2020 and 2021, led Pep Guardiola's side to treble glory, supplying 31 assists and 10 goals across all competitions for City.

Arsenal star Saka enjoyed an outstanding season, scoring 14 goals and contributing 11 assists to power the Gunners to a second place finish, while captain Odegaard led by example and hit 15 goals from midfield with seven assists.

Martin Odegaard alongside Bukayo Saka

England defender Stones was a revelation last season as Guardiola adapted him into a midfield role, where he excelled and helped to ensure City conceded just 33 league goals all season, the joint-fewest with Newcastle.

John Stones

England captain Kane scored 30 top-flight goals last season for Tottenham, second only to Haaland's tally of 36, despite a disappointing season for Spurs.

Harry Kane

This year's winner will be announced on August 29, marking the 50th anniversary of the PFA prize.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings