• News - North West - Kano
  • Updated: December 27, 2023

Kano government institutes wage committee to aid civil servants

Kano government institutes wage committee to aid civil serva

Gov. Abba Kabir Yusuf

 Kano State on Wednesday inaugurated a Wage Award Committee.

The committee, which was launched by the State Head of Civil Service, Abdullahi Musa is responsible for finding ways on how the government will financially support civil servants. 

While inaugurating the committee, held at the Conference Hall of the Office of the Head of Civil Service, Abdullahi Musa said the financial aid will help cushion the effect of the hardship endured due to oil subsidy removal among others. 

Musa said that the committee was given seven days to present their position before inviting stakeholders and labour leaders to give their resourceful impact.

The Head of Service also read out the terms of reference as follows; to study and appraise the demand by the joint councils of the state branches of the labour centers for implementation of the wage award. 

It also included critically studying and reviewing or adopting the scenarios prepared by the Office of the Head of Civil Service or treat otherwise. 

Added also to engage the labour centres in collective bargaining for achieving harmonious industrial relations, recommend to the government the best and applicable option for consideration and any other business incidental to the assignment. 

Meanwhile, the chairman of the wage award committee, Special Adviser on Labour Matters, Comrade Baffa Sani Gaya assured the Head of Service of doing justice to the responsibility and will deliver in the slated period. 
Comrade Gaya urged members to sit up to the responsibility entrusted to. 

Among other members are; the Permanent Secretary Establishment, Umar Muhammad Jalo; Permanent Secretary, Salary and Wages, Ibrahim LAwan Boyi; Permanent Secretary, Human Resources and Service Improvement, Abba A. Danguguwa; Kano State Auditor General, Ismail Musa; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Kabiru Sa’idu Magani; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Planning and Budget, Lauratu Ado Diso; Solicitor General/Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Mustapha Nuradden Muhammad; Senior Special Assistant, Establishment Matters and Research, Zainab Ahmad Gwadabe. 

Also, among members of the Secretariat of the Committee inaugurated by the Head of Civil Service, are the Deputy Chairman, Payroll Standing Committee; Director Establishment, Office of the Head of Civil Service, Hassan Salisu K/Mata; and Principal Assistant Secretary, Ashiru Abdullahi to serve as the Committee Secretary.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings