• Politics
  • Updated: March 20, 2023

Lagos Guber: How Governor Sanwo-Olu Was Re-Elected

Lagos Guber: How Governor Sanwo-Olu Was Re-Elected

The gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, was declared the winner of the Saturday election in the early hours of Monday.

The declaration was made by the State Returning Officer, Prof. Adenike Oladiji at INEC's collation centre in Yaba, Lagos.

Sanwo-Olu defeated Labour Party's Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour and Olajide Adediran (aka Jandor) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“I hereby declare that Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, having satisfied the requirements of the law by having 25 per cent of the total of the LGAs of the states and also having the highest number of votes cast and meeting the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner”, Oladiji said.

It was revealed that the incumbent governor won 19 of the 20 local government areas in the state by a landslide.

Sanwo-Olu only lost in the Amuwo-Odofin local government area where Rhodes-Vivour polled 34,860 to defeat APC which got 17,576 votes.

According to INEC, the governor garnered 762,124 votes in the election to defeat the other 15 candidates to retain his seat.

Rhodes-Vivour came in second with 312,329 votes while PDP's Jandor followed in third position, polling 62,449 votes.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings