• Sports - Sports
  • Updated: January 08, 2020

Mane Crowned African Best, Oshoala, Hakimi Emerge Victors


Liverpool and Senegal forward Sadio Mane has been crowned African Player of the Year for 2019, reports Allnews.ng

Mane beat his Liverpool teammate, Mohamed Salah and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez, who captained his country to a Nation's Cup triumph, to the award.

The Senegalese attacker has continued from where he left off last season with his 11 goals helping guide Liverpool to the summit of the English Premier League where they lead the closest rival, Leicester City with 13 points.

Meanwhile, Nigerian and Barcelona attacker, Asisat Oshoala, won the Women’s crown ahead of Ajara Nchout of Cameroon and South Africa’s Thembi Kgltana.

The 25-year-old who has notched seven goals in eight appearances for the Spanish side became the second woman to win the prize for a fourth time, equalling compatriot Perpetua Nkwocha’s record.

Besides equalling Perpetua Nkwocha’s feat after winning 2014, 2016 and 2017 awards, she also became the second African player to win the gong four times between 2010 and 2019 after Cote d'Ivoire's Yaya Toure.

Meanwhile, Morocco winger Achraf Hakimi, beat Nigerian duo, Victor Osimhen, and Samuel Chukuweze to the 2019 African Youth Player of the year award.

The Indomitable Lioness of Cameroon scooped the prize for the best Women’s National Team in the continent following their impressive performance at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France where they made it to the Round of 16 for the first time.

Banyana Banyana of South Africa head coach Desiree Ellis picked the Women’s Coach Of The Year Award, while Algeria’s Djamel Belmadi won the Men’s Award.


Men’s Player Of The Year – Sadio Mane ( Senegal)
Women’s Player Of The Year- Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
African Youth Player Of The Year- Achraf Hakimi (Morocco)
Women’s National Team Of The Year- Cameroon
Men’s Team Of The Year- Algeria
Women’s Coach Of The Year- Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Men’s Coach Of The Year – Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)
Federation Of The Year- Egyptian Football Association
Club President Of The Year- Moise Katumbi (TP Mazembe)
Goal Of The Year – Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)
Interclub Player Of The Year – Tarek Hamed
Special Award- Kodjovi Obilale


Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Walter Igboanu
Walter Igboanu

Walter is a spirited Nigerian seeking to make a mark on the country's socio-political climate th...

More From this Author

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...