• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: September 06, 2023

Messi, Haaland, Mbappe In Contention For 2023 Ballon D'Or Award

Messi, Haaland, Mbappe In Contention For 2023 Ballon D'Or Aw

Lionel Messi, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe are three of the top names in contention for the 2023 Ballon d'Or award.

The shortlist for world football's most prestigious individual award was revealed on Wednesday.

A total of 30 players made the cut and are vying to claim the prize that Karim Benzema took home in 2022.

The performances of players not only at club level, but also at the 2022 World Cup were taken into account in selecting this year's list of potential winners.

Argentina legend Messi is the overwhelming favourite to win and extend his record to eight Ballons d'Or after winning the World Cup.

Man City's Haaland, who is one of 12 Premier League players nominated, is equally a strong contender due to his pivotal role in helping Pep Guardiola's side win the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League Treble last season, scoring 52 goals in all competitions in his debut season.

Frenchman Mbappe is also a force among the contenders, having scored over 50 goals for club and country, won yet another league title with Paris St-Germain and won the Golden Boot at the World Cup after scoring a hat-trick in the final.

This year's ceremony will be held in Paris on Monday, October 30 to crown the best footballer in the past 12 months.

Ballon d'Or Nominees

Josko Gvardiol (Manchester City, Croatia)

Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, Germany)

Andre Onana (Manchester United, Cameroon)

Karim Benzema (Al-Ittihad, France)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Bukayo Saka (Arsenal, England)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid, England)

Randal Kolo Muani (Paris St-Germain, France)

Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)

Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli, Georgia)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa, Argentina)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)

Martin Odegaard (Arsenal, Norway)

Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona, Germany)

Yassine Bounou (Sevilla, Morocco)

Julian Alvarez (Manchester City, Argentina)

Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)

Rodri (Manchester City, Spain)

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)

Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, Argentina)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland)

Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich, South Korea)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain, France)

Harry Kane (Bayern Munich, England)

Victor Osimhen (Napoli, Nigeria)

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings