• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: October 01, 2022

NFF Election: Meet Newly-Elected Board Members And Their Zones

NFF Election: Meet Newly-Elected Board Members And Their Zon

Newly Elected NFF Board Members

Ibrahim Musa Gusau was on Friday elected the new President of the Nigeria Football Federation, succeeding Amaju Melvin Pinnick who was in the role for the past eight years while other board members were also elected into various positions to steer the affairs of Nigerian football in the next four years.

Vastly experienced administrator Aisha Falode was elected as a representative for the South-South zone.

According to NFF, Gusau was Chairman of Chairmen of Nigeria Football and also Chairman of the Zamfara State Football Association. He defeated Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, who until Friday afternoon was the NFF’s 1st Vice President, by polling 21 votes to Akinwunmi’s 12 in the first round.

Akinwunmi, who is Chairman of the Lagos State Football Association, announced his withdrawal just before the run-off was to take place, just as Mallam Shehu Dikko (who polled 6 votes) and Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola (1 vote).

However, former international goalkeeper Peterside Idah (1 vote in round one) refused to step down and earned another 1 vote in the run-off, as Gusau coasted home with 39 votes.

The 58-year-old Gusau is a qualified accountant and a Safety and Security Officer for the Confederation of African Football.

The race for the presidency, which had 11 contestants, was whittled down before the ballot as Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam withdrew a few days to the poll, while Barr. Musa Amadu, Hon. Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande and Adam Mukhtar Mohammed pulled out just before the vote inside the auditorium. 

Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu, long-term Chairman of two-time CAF Champions League winners Enyimba FC, swept to the 1st Vice President position by trashing Senator Obinna Ogba (Chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth and Sports Development) by 23 votes to 8.

Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed Fresh was unopposed for the position of Chairman of Chairmen, just as Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa had an easy ride picking a slot from the North West without any opposition.

Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen was elected from the North Central zone, edging incumbent Alhaji Mohammed Alkali by 22 votes to 19 in a run-off, just as incumbent Babagana Kalli and newman Timothy Henman Magaji succeeded in the North-East race.

Rt. Hon. Essien Udofot and Ms Aisha Falode won the two seats available from the South-South after an interesting run-off saw Essien taking 19 votes to Falode’s 13, with first-round leader Poubeni Ogun ejected with 7 votes

The race for seats from the South-East zone was suspended on a technicality, but Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi made a return to the NFF Board from the South West just as Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi retained his seat. Dele-Ajayi and Majekodunmi earned 12 votes each in the run-off, with Gafar Liameed third with 7 votes and Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga in fourth place with 4 votes.

The event that lasted well into the night was witnessed by three officials of the world football-governing body, FIFA: Gelson Fernandes, Solomon Mudege and Ahmad Mohamed Mukhtar Harraz. Mr. Felix Majani was the eye of the Confederation of African Football.


Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Taiwo  Ibrahim
Taiwo Ibrahim

Taiwo Ibrahim is a passionate writer with over ten years of experience in the Media industry cut acr...

More From this Author

English Premier League 2022/2023 TABLE

English Premier League
Full Table

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...