• Sports - Football
  • Updated: January 05, 2023

NFF President Gusau Warns Match Commissioners, Referees At Inauguration

NFF President Gusau Warns Match Commissioners, Referees At I

Ibrahim Gusau NFF New President

The President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau, has issued a stern warning to match commissioners and referees.

Gusau said that anyone who fails to do their job with the "highest level of integrity, passion, commitment and sense of duty" will be booted out and sanctioned appropriately.

The NFF President remarked on this at the inauguration of the Referees and Match Commissioners’ Committees inside the NFF Secretariat, Abuja on Thursday.

“We have been diligent and statute-compliant in the selection of the membership of both the Referees Committee and the Match Commissioners’ Committees, and therefore, we expect them to do their job with the highest level of integrity, passion, commitment and sense of duty,” Gusau said.

“The onus is on the committees as we will keenly monitor the performances of your appointees and be dispassionate in our assessment. Anyone found wanting will be thrown out without ceremony, and be visited with further sanctions.

"The NFF is determined to change the narrative in the league and there is no going back. Please help us to have a new league that all stakeholders will be proud of."

Alhaji Babagana Kalli, Chairman of the Match Commissioners Committee and NFF Board Member, pledged that his committee will display transparency and integrity in discharging its duties.

Faith Irabor, Chairman of the Referees Committee, expressed that there will be a change of narrative with respect to the umpires’ on the basis of Gusau's commitment to implement the highest standards of probity in match officiating.

Members of the Match Commissioners Committee include Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi (NFF Board Member) as vice chairman, Danlami Alanana as secretary, Hon. Usman Maulud, Alh. Aminu Mammaga, Alh. Idris Abdullahi Musa, Anthony Ugwu, Otunba Mustapha Razaq, Alh. Sabo Abdullahi Dutse and Chief Kenneth Nwamuocha.

The members of the Referees Committee are, Mallam Rabiu Umar as vice chairman, Alh. Sani Zubairu as secretary, Oba James Odeniran, Mr. Abraham Zakowi, Mallam Waziri Furo Gawe, C. C. Chukwujekwu and Mallam Bello Abubakar.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings