• Sports - Football
  • Updated: March 23, 2024

NFF President tasks Falconets on FIFA Women's U-20 World Cup

NFF President tasks Falconets on FIFA Women's U-20 World Cup


Urges team to forget African Games disappointment 

President of Nigeria Football Federation, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau has tasked the country's U-20 women's football national, Falconets to put behind them the disappointment of losing their African Games football crown to the Black Princesses of Ghana and focus on winning the 2024 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Colombia. 

The Nigerian side coached by Christopher Danjuma were the defending champions but were beaten in Cape Coast  2-1 by hosts Ghana who came from a losing position to wrestle the title.

“You played well and showed good skills and team work all the way to the final, but your best was not good enough to retain the gold medal, Gusau stated. 

"There is no need and there will never be any gain crying over spilt milk. The onus is now on you and the coaches to focus on the FIFA World Cup finals coming up later this year.

“In truth, the NFF and Nigerians expected you to retain the gold medal, having scored eight goals and conceded none until the final match. That is gone now and the World Cup beckons. 

"Your collective objective should be to win the World Cup trophy for the first time. The NFF will give you all the support to prepare adequately and face the world’s best in Colombia,” the NFF boss assured. 

The Falconets have participated in every edition of the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup since the competition was launched as an U19 tournament in Canada in 2002. 

They have now qualified for this year’s championship after overpowering the U20 girls of Tanzania and Burundi in the African qualifying series.

“Our girls have been in the Final of the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup on two occasions,” Gusau told the Communications department of the NFF. 

“In 2010 and 2014, though they lost on both occasions to Germany. 

"They were in the semi-finals in Japan in 2012, and at the last edition in Costa Rica, they reached the quarter-finals.

“There has been some consistency in our performance over the years and it is time to take the step up and claim the title. That can only be done by hard work, focus and self-belief. The hard work must start right now.”

Five countries have won the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup competition since it commenced in 2002: USA, Germany, DPR Korea, Japan and Spain.

The United States won in 2002, 2008 and 2012; Germany won in 2004, 2010 and 2014; DPR Korea won in 2006 and 2016; Japan won in 2018 and; Spain won in 2022.

This year’s FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup finals will take place 31st – 22nd September in Colombia.     


Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

1 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings