• News - North Central - FCT
  • Updated: May 18, 2024

NJC recommends Wike’s wife, 21 other judges for Appeal Court

NJC recommends Wike’s wife, 21 other judges for Appeal Cou

The National Judicial Council,  NJC, recommended wife of the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, FCT, Nyesom Wike, Justice Nyesom-Wike Eberechi Suzzette for elevation to the Court of Appeal.

The NJC, which took the decision at its 105th plenary meeting held on May 15 and 16, also okayed the elevation of 21 other  judges to the Court of Appeal.

According to the Council, 64 others were recommended for appointment as judges of various other lower courts, adding that the recommended candidates were expected to be sworn in after the approval of their appointment by President Bola Tinubu and the governors of their respective states.

Likewise, the Council said it deliberated on the notification of retirements of three Judicial Officers, among whom included the Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, as well as the notification of death of three Judges of the Federal and State Courts.

This was disclosed in a statement, which was signed by the Director of Information at the NJC, Soji Oye.

The statement read in part: “Council at the Meeting also considered the recommendation of its Interview Committee on Appointment of Judicial Officers of all Superior Courts of Record in Nigeria and resolved to recommend the under-listed 86 Judicial Officers for appointment to the Court of Appeal, High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Sharia Courts of Appeal and Customary Courts of Appeal of States in Nigeria.

They are as follows:

“Twenty-Two (22) Justices, Court of Appeal: Hon. Justice Kwahar Polycarp Terna, Hon. Justice Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola, Hon. Justice Eleojo Eneche, Hon. Justice Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf, Hon. Justice Abdullahi Muhammad Liman, Hon. Justice Abdu Dogo, Hon. Justice Fadawu Umaru, Hon. Justice Ishaq Mohammed Sani, Hon. Justice Zainab Bage Abubakar, Hon. Justice Abdulazeez M. Anka, Hon. Justice Nnamdi Okwy Dimgba, Hon. Justice Nwoye Victoria Tochukwu, Hon. Justice Nwabunkeonye Onwosi, Hon. Justice Okorowo Donatus Uwaezuoke.

“Hon. Justice Ngozika Uwazurunonye Okaisabor, Hon. Justice Ntong Festus Ntong, Hon. Justice Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi, Hon. Justice Nyesom-Wike Eberechi Suzzette, 19. Hon. Justice Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo, Hon. Justice Akinyemi Abiodun Azeem, Hon. Justice Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola and Hon. Justice Olukayode Adegbola Adeniyi.

“Twelve (12) Judges, High Court, FCT, Abuja: Ademuyiwa Olakunle Oyeyipo, Bamodu Odunayo Olutomi, Anumaenwe Godwin Iheabunike, Odo Celestine Obinna, Hauwa Lawal Gummi, Abdurahman Usman, Buetnaan Mandy Bassi, Sarah Benjamin Inesu Avoh, Maryan Iye Yusuf, Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria, Lesley Nkesi Belema Wike and Munirat Ibrahim Tanko.

“Seven (7) Judges, Imo State High Court: Akowundu Cletus Ndubuisi, Uchenna Mary Njoku, Chibuogwu Ojiugo Chukwumaeze, Ononogbo Chidi Linus, Adaego Peace Nosiri, Emeka Ozoma Orafu, Mathew Chinedu Ijezie.

“Six (6) Judges, Bauchi State High Court: Amin Umar Ilelah, Aliyu Bin Idris, Ahmed Shuaibu Ningi, Shafa’u Ladan Yusuf, Abdussalam Idris Waziri, Kawu A. Yerima.

“Three (3) Judges, Taraba State High Court: Hamidu Audu, Bibonga Jeniffer Nauma, Joel Daniel Ubandoma.
“Thirteen Judges, Lagos State High Court: Sunmonu Tunde Bashiru, Azeez Fimisola Augusta, Alebiosu Olawale Lawal, Adewale Russel Musiliu, Popoola Oluwatosin Ajose, Anjorin-Ajose Tanimola Abdulwaheed, Muyideen Abdul-Raheem Tejumade, George Alfred Akingbola, Balogun Adegboyega Ganiu, Shonubi Adenike Kudirat, Badejo-Okusanya Yewande Jokotola, Layinka Oyeladun Amope, Ojuromi Nalirat Olayinka Oluwatosin.

“Four (4) Judges, Kogi State High Court: Ajesola Joseph Sunday, Ojoma Rachael Haruna, Kadiri Badama, Ezema Beatrice Ada.

“Two (2) Judges, Jigawa State High Court: Mohammad El-Usman, Nilfa Abdullahi Gambo.

“Five (5) Kadis, Sharia Court of Appeal, Bauchi State: Ishaku Magaji Abdurrahman Hassan Sabo, Bello Mohammed Sambowal, Muhyiddeen Mohammed, Mahmoud Idris Shehu Tiyin.

“Five (5) Kadis, Sharia Court of Appeal, Kogi State: Muhammad Muhammad Bello, Okino Isah Saidu, Yakubu Adavenge Abbas, Shaibu Ridwan Aliyu, Idris Alhaji Abdullahi.

“One (1) Kadi, Sharia Court of Appeal, Jigawa State: Mukhtar Shuaibu Adam.
“Three (3) Judges, Imo State Customary Court of Appeal: Everyman Ezenna Eleanya, Ofoha Sylvesta Uchenna, Ibeh Rosemond Oluchi.

“Two Judges, Customary Court of Appeal, Taraba State: Esther Tata, Benjamin Samuila Bawage.

“One (1) Judge, Customary Court of Appeal, Kogi State: Maryann Oziohu Otaru.
“All recommended candidates are expected to be sworn-in after the approval of the NJC recommendations to the President and their respective State Governors,” the statement read.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings