• Tech - News
  • Updated: May 12, 2022

NLNG’s Science Prize Judges Receive 107 Entries For 2022 Cycle

Latest News

Lawrence Agbo
Lawrence Agbo

Lawrence is a vibrant journalist that loves creating SEO-focused content that drives businesses. ...

More From this Author

For the 2022 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Science, the NLNG panel of judges received 107 entries from scientists all over the world, with a prize of $100,000 to be granted.

General Manager for External Relations and Sustainable Development, Nigeria LNG Ltd. (NLNG), Andy Odeh, made the announcement during the handover ceremony of the entries on Thursday in Lagos.

Prof. Barth Nnaji, former Minister of Power and Chairperson of the Advisory Board for the Prize, handed over the entries to the judges, headed by Prof. Christian Agbo, from the Department of Agriculture, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

Odeh said the entries signaled the commencement of the race to find a winner with the best scientific work on the theme ‘Innovations in Sustainable Food Security’.

Represented by Anne-Marie Palmer-Ikuku, Acting Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Manager, NLNG, Odeh said the theme was carried over from the 2020/2021 cycle into the 2022 cycle after a no-winner decision by the judges.

He said the need to find scientific approach to attaining sustainable food security was critical to the country’s survival.

According to him, the trending forecast shows that there might be severe food challenges waiting to implode.

Odeh said scientists were needed now, more than ever in the country’s history, to wade off food crisis that would negatively impact sustainable development goals.

“NLNG is very keen on ensuring that the Nigeria prize for science creates opportunities for positive impact in all spheres of life in Nigeria.

“This is why we are taking continuous improvement steps to revitalise and rekindle the drive for development and to build a better Nigeria, in line with our Company’s vision,” he said.

Also, Nnaji said the science prize was an opportunity to change the narrative about the country’s development.

He said that the state of the nation mirrors the state of science and scientific research in the country.

Nnaji challenged the judges to remain resolute and focused on excellence, sound research and innovation.

Other members of the panel are Funke Opeke, the Founder of MainOne and Prof. Mohammed Magaji, Professor of Agronomy at the Usman Dan Fodio University, Sokoto.

On the prize’s Advisory Board, in addition to Nnaji, are Dr Nike Akande, a two-time Minister and former President Lagos Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Prof. Yusuf Abubakar, a professor of Animal Breeding and Quantitative Genetics.

The winner of the science prize would be announced in September 2022.


Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Lawrence Agbo
Lawrence Agbo

Lawrence is a vibrant journalist that loves creating SEO-focused content that drives businesses. ...

More From this Author


Index Open Close Change
BUA FOODS 54.50 59.95 10.00
NEM INSURANCE PLC 4.01 4.41 9.98
IKEJA HOTEL PLC 1.16 1.27 9.48
More Market Data

0 Comment(s)


See this post in...