• News - South West - Ondo
  • Updated: June 03, 2023

Oladiji Elected Ondo Assembly Speaker

Oladiji Olamide representing Ondo East Constituency has been elected as Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly.

His election was conducted by lawmakers of the Assembly which is dominated by the All Progressives Congress(APC).

Oladiji won 23 seats while the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won three seats.

Moreover, 12 lawmakers in the 10th Assembly are aged between 30 and 45.

The youngest Ondo lawmaker, Moyinolorun Ogunwumiju, is 33, while the oldest is Witherspoon Morenike at 63.

Besides Witherspoon representing Owo II, other female lawmakers are Fayemi Annah representing Ilaje II and Ogunlowo Oluwatosin representing Idanre.

Oladiji was elected as Speaker after a proclamation letter from Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu was read by Clerk of the House, Benjamin Jaiyeola.

Jaiyeola, who read the Governor’s letter proclaiming the 10th Assembly to hold its first session, said it was in line with Sub section 3 of section 105 of the Nigeria Constitution.

The lawmakers also elected Hon Abayomi Akinruntan representing Ilaje 1, as Deputy Speaker.

The Speaker said the 10th Assembly would not be accused of not doing its best to reposition the state.

Olajidi promised a smooth relationship between the legislature and the executive.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Francis Ezediuno
Francis Ezediuno

Francis Ezediuno is a journalist who is self thought on application of social media in news gatherin...

More From this Author


juli plc Services

Juli plc was founded in August 2, 1971 and was incorporated on the 14th Septembe...


0 Comment(s)


See this post in...