• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: November 01, 2023

Osimhen Shortlisted For CAF Best Men's Player Award

Osimhen Shortlisted For CAF Best Men's Player Award

Victor Osimhen

Super Eagles and Napoli forward Victor Osimhen has been shortlisted for the 2023 CAF Men's Player of the Year award.

CAF unveiled the 30-man list of nominees for the men’s categories on Wednesday (today).

Osimhen made the cut following a remarkable season with Napoli last season.

The 24-year-old helped the Partenopei win the Serie A for the first time in 33 years, scoring 26 goals to win the Italian top-flight Golden Boot.

He was also instrumental in Napoli making it to the quarter-finals of the UEFA Champions League for the very first time in the club’s history last term, netting five times in six matches.

His laudable achievements recently earned him an eighth place finish on the men’s list of the 2023 Ballon d’Or and now makes him the heavy favourite to take home the gong.

He is up against current holder Sadio Mane and Liverpool Forward Mohamed Salah to be crowned the best male footballer in Africa. 

The Awards Gala is scheduled for December 11, 2023, in Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and SSC Napoli)

Ramy Bensebaini (Algeria and Borussia Dortmund)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Al Ahli)

Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso and Bayer Leverkusen)

Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon and SSC Napoli)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon and Besiktas)

Ibrahima Sangare (Cote d’Ivoire and Nottingham Forest)

Seko Fofana (Cote d’Ivoire and Al Nassr)

Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo and Olympique Marseille)

Fiston Mayele (DR Congo and Pyramids)

Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt and Ahly)

Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt and Al Ahly)

Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

Mohammed Kudus (Ghana and West Ham United)

Thomas Partey (Ghana and Arsenal)

Serhou Guirassy (Guinea and VfB Stuttgart)

Yves Bissouma (Mali and Tottenham Hotspur)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Paris Saint-Germain)

Azzedine Ounahi (Morocco and Olympique Marseille)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Galatasaray)

Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco and Manchester United)

Yahya Jabrane (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Al Hilal)

Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco and Sevilla)

Peter Shalulile (Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns)

Sadio Mane (Senegal and Al Nassr)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur)

Percy Tau (South Africa and Al Ahly)

Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia and Ferencvaros)


Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings