• Politics
  • Updated: April 20, 2024

Over 170,000 voters to decide Ondo APC guber primary

Over 170,000 voters to decide Ondo APC guber primary

The supervisory committee for the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary in Ondo State has announced that 171,922 accredited members will participate in the voting process scheduled for Saturday. 

The primary will take place across 203 wards in 18 local government areas, with 16 aspirants, including incumbent governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa, in contention.

Following a meeting with stakeholders and aspirants in Akure, the secretary of the seven-member committee, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, confirmed that none of the aspirants had withdrawn or stepped down ahead of the exercise.

The committee reiterated its commitment to conducting a direct primary across all 203 wards, emphasizing the need for peaceful conduct and urging aspirants to advise their supporters accordingly.

Omo-Agege affirmed the committee's adherence to party guidelines and constitution, pledging to ensure a transparent, fair, and credible election. Also, he assured collaboration with state security agencies to maintain law and order throughout the primary process.

The committee is headed by Kogi State governor, Usman Adodo.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings