• News - South West - Oyo
  • Updated: May 27, 2024

Oyo NAWOJ inaugurates new executives

Oyo NAWOJ inaugurates new executives

Newly elected Oyo NAWOJ executives

A new set of executives of the Oyo State Chapter of the National Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ, has emerged.

The newly-appointed executives led by Omolola Alamu will steer the ship of the association for the next four years.

The new executives were unanimously appointed across all chapels in accordance with the constitution of the Association and the Nigerian Union of Journalists, NUJ.

The swearing-in which was held on Monday at the NUJ Secretariat, Iyaganku, Ibadan was witnessed by the national vice president, Adeola Adekunle among other stakeholders.

The Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Oyo State Council, Demola Babalola appealed to the new leadership of the association to have a large heart and accommodate all in this new era.

He identified key areas the new executives must look into for the progress of the association in Oyo State.

Speaking before the swearing-in ceremony, the Chairperson, Caretaker/Screening Committee for the Year 2024 Oyo State NAWOJ Election, Omolara Ayoade said due to the agreement of stakeholders and leaders of NAWOJ in Oyo State, the Association has expedited the process to ensure a seamless inauguration, as there was no election.

She said, instead, the Association conducted a selection process across the chapels, based on the consensus of both leaders and members of NAWOJ.

Before proceeding, the State chapter of the Association obtained permission and approval from the national secretariat, after relaying the agreement of the leaders in Oyo State and NAWOJ members.

“That’s why we have the representative of the National President of NAWOJ, Comrade Adeola Adekunle with us today," she said.

She appreciated Oyo NUJ and all the Association’s leaders, especially the pioneer Chairperson, Bose Oyewole, Yinka Bode-Are and a host of other leaders present.

This in turn gave birth to the emergence of Omolola Alamu, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, FRCN chapel as the Chairperson.

Other executives are Bola Okanlawon (Information Chapel)- Vice Chairperson; Eniola Adeage (NTA Chapel)- Secretary; Opeyemi Ogunniyi (Information Chapel)- Asst. Secretary; Mosun Akinola (MOACTV)- Treasurer; Kehinde Igbari (Fin. Secretary); Temitope Oyewole (Federal Information)- Auditor.

The newly appointed officers were sworn in immediately to commence work.

Omolola Alamu in her acceptance speech, shortly after the swearing-in thanked everyone, for the trust reposed in her, saying she wouldn’t have gone this far without their support.

She said, “Your unanimous consent for me to lead our Association at a time like this, is a testament to the trust and confidence you have in me, and I promise to work tirelessly to justify this trust,"

Alamu acknowledged the unique challenges women face in journalism, from gender bias to harassment and marginalization, noting that they have also demonstrated remarkable resilience, dedication and excellence in their work.

She therefore pledged to amplify women journalists' voices, promote their interests and create opportunities for their growth and development.

“My vision for NAWOJ Oyo State is clear: we will strive for inclusivity, diversity and equity. We will foster a culture of mentorship, support and collaboration. We will engage in advocacy and activism to address the issues that affect us and our communities. And we will celebrate our achievements and triumphs because our stories matter.

“I acknowledge the giants on whose shoulders we stand, the pioneering women journalists who paved the way for us. Some of them are here today; the likes of Mrs Bose Oyewole etc. I salute our male colleagues (NAMEJIANS) who have supported and encouraged us along the way. And I look forward to working with each and every one of you to build a stronger, more vibrant NAWOJ Oyo State.”

Present at the ceremony were: Vice President of NAWOJ (Zone B), Adeola Adekunle; Zonal Secretary, Adeola Adewole; the NUJ Chairman, Ademola Babalola and his executives; pioneer NAWOJ Chairperson in Oyo State, Bose Oyewole; all past NAWOJ Chairpersons and national officers; NUJ Chapel leaders; the Caretaker/Credentials’ Committee members among others.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings