• News
  • Updated: December 16, 2020

President Buhari Orders Reopening Of 4 Land Borders

The Minister of Finance, Budget, and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed on Wednesday said President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate re-opening of four land borders.

Ahmed, who made the disclosure while addressing State House correspondents shortly after the Federal Executive Council, (FEC) meeting, said other land borders will be opened by December 31, 2020.

The four land borders are Seme in the southwest, Illela in Sokoto State, Maigatari in the northwest, and Mfun in the south-south.

However, the minister said the restriction on the importation of some commodities like rice and other products, would continue to be enforced.

AllNews recalls that the Federal Government had hinted that the country’s land borders which have been closed since August 2019 may be reopened soon.

READ ALSO: President Discloses Plans To Reopen Land Borders

Various borders were shut down to curtail the smuggling and illegal importation of drugs, small arms, food, and agricultural products into the country and even the smuggling of petrol from Nigeria to neighbouring West African countries.

Get the FREE app

Read the latest and trending news in Nigeria and around the World



Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Adedayo Babatunde
Adedayo Babatunde

Adedayo Babatunde is a seasoned journalist and an enthusiastic organic writer, who is passionate abo...

More From this Author

0 Comment(s)