• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: August 30, 2023

Haaland, Saka Shine At 2023 PFA Awards

Haaland, Saka Shine At 2023 PFA Awards

Manchester City's Erling Haaland has claimed the PFA men's players' player of the year award, with Arsenal's Bukayo Saka named young player of the year.

The 23-year-old Norwegian saw off competition from team-mates Kevin de Bruyne and John Stones, Arsenal's Saka and Martin Odegaard and Tottenham's Harry Kane, now at Bayern Munich.

Haaland helped City win the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League Treble last season, scoring 52 goals in all competitions in his debut season.

"It's an honour to win this prestigious award," said Haaland. 

"To be recognised by your competitors is a great feeling and I would like to thank everyone who voted for me.

"It was an unforgettable season for the team and for me personally. 

"Winning the Treble was something I never imagined, so to achieve that with such a special group of players was an amazing feeling."

Saka, on the other hand, was awarded the young player prize after beating off competition from Haaland,  Chelsea's British-record signing Moises Caicedo, Aston Villa midfielder Jacob Ramsey, Arsenal forward Gabriel Martinelli and Brighton striker Evan Ferguson.

The 21-year-old England international of Nigerian heritage scored 14 goals and contributed 11 assists last season as the Gunners narrowly missed out on the league title.

“It’s an honour for me to accept this award and have my name alongside the previous winners," Saka said. 

"To have your peers acknowledge you is a very special feeling! 

"Thank you to the PFA and congratulations to all the other winners and nominees this evening.”

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings