• Sports - Football - Gossips
  • Updated: November 21, 2022

Top 10 Players With The Most Ballon d'Or Awards

Top 10 Players With The Most Ballon d'Or Awards

It is quite impressive how only two players have won the prestigious Ballon d'Or award more than three times.

This renowned award is given to a player who excels in a given year and is dished out by France football after voting by journalists as well.

The Ballon d'Or was first awarded to players from Europe, and then it was expanded to include players who played for clubs on the continent.

But starting in 2007, every player is qualified and the awards' scope includes every region of the globe.

Here is a look at the top 10 players with the most Ballon d’Or awards in football history:

10. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge 

German icon and former FC Bayern Munich player Karl-Heinz Rummenigge has won the award twice.

He received his first award in 1980 and his second in 1981.

The three-time league-leading scorer also helped the German national team win a UEFA Euro, two UCLs, two league championships, and two league titles.

9. Kevin Keegan 

Legendary Liverpool club player Kevin Keegan also represented England's national side during his football career.

His two Ballon d'Or wins were in 1978 and 1979.

The forward won 11 trophies during his time with the Reds, including one UEFA Champions League and three Premier League championships.

8. Alfredo Di Stefano 

Alfredo Di Stefano, regarded as one of the most lethal forwards Spain has ever seen, passed away in 2014.

The talented forward took home the Ballon d'Or in 1957 and 1959. Along with winning the Spanish league eight times with the team, he also won the UCL five times with Real Madrid.

Additionally, he was five times La Liga's Golden Boot winner.

7. Ronaldo Da Lima

Ronaldo, who is often referred to as the "original," won the Ballon d'Or twice.

In 1997 and 2002, he received the esteemed honour. His performance at the 2002 FIFA World Cup played a significant role in Brazil's victory.

He is well respected in the football community and is regarded as a famous striker for both his country and the club.

The Brazilian who won the World Cup twice is one of the rare players who have ever played for both Real Madrid and FC Barcelona.

6. Franz Beckenbauer

Franz Beckenbauer, also known as the father of the sweeper defender role, is a legendary figure in world football.

The former German national player won the Ballon d’Or in 1972 and 1976. He played extensively for FC Bayern Munich, winning the Champions League three times.

He won the Bundesliga five times and won the World Cup and the Euros once each with Germany.

5. Marco van Basten

Marco van Basten is one of the five players to win the Ballon d’Or three or more times.

It was won by the renowned Dutch football player in 1988, 1989, and 1992.

He won two Champions League titles with AC Milan and one UEFA Euro trophy with the Dutch national side.

4. Johan Cruyff

Johan Cruyff demands huge respect in the world of football.

He was at the centre of promoting the “Total Football” philosophy which revolutionised football and impacts it even today.

The Dutch legend won the European club trophy thrice with Ajax. He also won the Dutch Eredivisie nine times and the Spanish La Liga once with FC Barcelona.

In terms of the Ballon d’Or award, Cruyff won it in 1971, 1973 and 1974.

3. Michel Platini

French football legend Michel Platini won the Ballon d’Or thrice consecutively. He took the award in 1983, 1984 and 1985.

Platini, one of the top midfielders of his time, won two Serie A league titles with Juventus, one UCL, and one UEFA Euro with France.

Before 2015, he also served as the president of UEFA.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or a total of five times. Lionel Messi and Ronaldo won the award a combined 12 out of 13 times between 2008 and 2021.

These two legendary players, Ronaldo and Messi, competed against one another for the Ballon d'Or in this era.

The Portuguese international won the award in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017. He took second place six times.

1. Lionel Messi

The player with the most Ballon d'Or awards overall is Lionel Messi, with seven wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021.

This is possibly the most amazing of his numerous accomplishments.

Due to Messi's longevity and consistency at the highest level, this record might never be broken.

The Argentine has never won the Ballon d'Or while playing for Paris Saint-Germain; all of his victories came while he was a player for FC Barcelona.

Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now

0 Comment(s)

See this post in...


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings