• News
  • Updated: March 25, 2022

WAEC Bans 35 Schools In Rivers State

The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) has banned 35 secondary schools in Rivers State, Nigeria from presenting candidates for the West African Secondary School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) over examination malpractices.

As reported by PM News, the Rivers State's Ministry of Education has sent letters signed by the council's Deputy Registrar/Zonal Coordinator for Head of National office, S.D. Kum, confirming the ban to the owners of the affected schools.

The Coordinator said the affected schools have been banned from registering candidates till further notice.

Below is a list of the affected schools

1. EL-Olam global academy, Ogbogoro

2. Rehoboth Int'l Secondary School

3. Christ Secondary School, Nonwa

4. Midland Int'l Christian Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt

5. Rootway Comprehension College, Port Harcourt

6. Charry Comprehension Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt

7. Millennium High School, Port Harcourt

8. Sonny Memorial College, Diobu

9. Sit-up International School, Oyigho

10. Rich-Model Secondary School, Oyigbo

11. Excel Comprehensive College, Okrika

12. Victory High School, Port Harcourt

13. Atlantic Heralds High School, Port Harcourt

14. Nigerian Christian Comp. College, Asarunia

15. Nobsams International School, Igbo Etche

16. Unique International Secondary School, Etche

17. Ranjenny's High School, Ogale Nchia Eleme

18. Baptist Vocational College, Aboada

19. John Wesley College, Bori 

20. Community Secondary School, Ido

21. Community Secondary School, Baranyowa Dere

22. Community Secondary School, KONO Boue

23. Community Secondary School, Kpean

24. Comprehensive High Shool, Sii Khanna

25. Kono Secondary School, Kono

26. Community Secondary School, Baen

27. Community Secondary School. Ngo-Uyeada

28. Community Secondary School, Abam-ama

29. Community Secondary School, Ban-Ogoi Tua-Tua

30. Community Secondary School, Korokoro

31. Joinkrama Girls' Secondary School, Joinkrama

32. Western Ahoada County High School, Ahoada

33. Community Secondary School, Ebubu Eleme

The two schools missing on the list were not in the document published by the news agency. 

The state commissioner for education, Professor Kaniye Ebeku, revealed that the 21 private schools had been stripped of their licence while the principals of the public schools were relegated by the state government.


Related Topics

Join our Telegram platform to get news update Join Now
Deborah  Oyewole
Deborah Oyewole

A graduate of English Langauge with a passion for writing and editing. Ardent researcher and metic...

More From this Author


greif nigeria plc Industrial Goods

notore chemical ind plc Industrial Goods

Notre Chemical Industries Plc was established in 2005. The Company operates the ...

cutix plc Industrial Goods

The idea for the Company was conceived in 1981, by Dr. (Engr.) Ajulu Uzodike and...

dangote cement plc Industrial Goods

Dangote Cement Incorporated as “Obajana Cement Plc” by the Kogi Stat...


0 Comment(s)


See this post in...