WhatsApp has finally rolled out its “View Once” feature to smartphone users which deletes photos or videos from users' chats after they’ve been opened by the recipient. A similar feature was released on the web version in July.
Users can send a photo or video and make it “View Once” by tapping the “1” button on the right side close to the send button. It informs the sender that the sent photo or video is opened and gets deleted immediately after the recipient closes it. The recipient will receive a message with information that the photo or video is set to view once.
Recipients will still have the option to store the media content on their devices by capturing screenshots. WhatsApp has made it easier for users to share sensitive photos and videos through its platform on a temporary basis by offering the new disappearing feature.
If you do not see these new features, you have nothing to worry about: WhatsApp is constantly increasing the number of people who can use them.
The feature is similar to that of disappearing media and text on Messenger and Instagram except there is no time window for expiry and the photos or videos automatically disappear when the receiver has viewed them once.