Bernando Silva

Bernando Silva


National Team

Club Team

Previous Clubs

Bernardo Mota Veiga de Carvalho e Silva (Portuguese pronunciation: [bɨɾˈnaɾðu ˈsilvɐ]; born 10 August 1994) is a Portuguese professional footballer who plays as an attacking midfielder or right winger for Premier League club Manchester City and the Portugal national team. Considered one of the best midfielders in the world, Silva is known for his creativity, dribbling, stamina, versatility, and work-rate.[3][4]

Silva came through Benfica's youth academy. He began playing for Benfica B in 2013 and was promoted to the first-team in 2014, playing a few minutes with the latter. He was on loan at the Ligue 1 side Monaco during the 2014–15 season, with Les Monégasques making the move permanent in winter 2015. After winning the league title with them in 2017, he was signed by English club Manchester City for a reported fee of £43.5 million. He subsequently won the Premier League and EFL Cup in his first season in England, following this up with a domestic treble the following season. He had a significant role in City becoming the first men's team in England to win a domestic treble, being named Manchester City's Player of the Year in 2019 and being part of the PFA Premier League Team of the Year. Afterwards, Silva was listed among the 30-man shortlist for the Ballon d'Or. In 2020–21, he helped Manchester City reach their first UEFA Champions League final, and was an integral part of the side who sealed a first-ever continental treble in 2022–23.

Silva made his senior debut for Portugal in 2015 after previously being capped by the nations's youth teams at under-19 and under-21 levels. He was chosen in Portugal's squads for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup2018 FIFA World Cup2019 UEFA Nations League FinalsUEFA Euro 2020 and 2022 FIFA World Cup, winning the 2019 tournament on home soil while also being named as the Player of the Tournament.

Read more
  • Date of Birth
    Aug 10, 1994
  • Position
  • Weight
    64 kg
  • Height
    1.73 m

Honours & Awards

  • UEFA Champions League 2023
  • UEFA Super Cup 2023
  • Premier League 2023
  • FA Cup 2023
  • Ligue 1 2017
  • UEFA Nations League 2019
  • FA Cup 2019
  • FA Community Shield 2018
  • FA Community Shield 2019
  • Premier League 2018
  • Premier League 2019
  • Premier League 2021
  • Premier League 2022
  • Primeira Liga 2014
Read More


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings