Australia - Australia


Australia National Football team represents Australia in international men's football.

Australia national football team is controlled by the governing body for Football in Australia, Football Federation Australia (FFA), which is currently a member of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and the regional ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) since leaving the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) in 2006.

Australia's longtime rivals are trans-Tasman neighbors New Zealand.

FIFA Ranking: 42 (2020)

Head coach: Graham Arnold

Most caps: Mark Schwarzer (109 appearances)

Top scorer: Tim Cahill (50 goals)

Australia is the only national team to have been a champion of two confederations, having won the OFC Nations Cup four times between 1980 and 2004, as well as the AFC Asian Cup at the 2015 event on home soil. 

Australia was drawn into Group D in the 2010 FIFA World Cup, which featured three-time world champion Germany, Ghana, and Serbia. On 14 June 2010, Australia faced Germany. Pim Verbeek's surprising decision to play without a recognized striker saw Australia comprehensively defeated 4–0. Verbeek received heavy criticism for his tactics. Chief soccer analyst Craig Foster calling for his immediate sacking.

In 2010, Australia qualified for their second AFC Asian Cup, topping their qualification group. A successful campaign at the 2011 AFC Asian Cup saw Australia become runners-up to Japan, after losing in the final 1–0 in extra time.



Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Australia News


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings