Faroe Island

Faroe Islands (the) - Faroe Island


Faroe Island National Football Team stands for the Faroe Islands in association football and is controlled by the Faroe Islands Football Association. Faroe Island joined UEFA in 1990 and FIFA in 1988. 

Head coach: Håkan Ericson

Captain: Gunnar Nielsen

Most caps: Fróði Benjaminsen (94 appearances)

Top scorer: Rógvi Jacobsen (10 goals)

Home ground: Tórsvøllur

FIFA Ranking: 110th (2020)

Faroe Island National Football Team is the fourth-smallest UEFA country by population. 

The Faroe Islands national football team has a main stand for their supporters at Tórsvøllur, which is known as "Skansin", meaning fort in English. Skansin was formed in 2014, following their 1–0 away victory against Greece in Pireaus and the opening of their newly renovated stadium. As of April 2016, Skansin has 400 members domestically, and stand tickets are sold out every home match.

Following Northern Ireland's 3–1 victory against the Faroe Islands during the Euro 2016 qualifiers on 4 September 2015, Northern Ireland forward Kyle Lafferty stated that he was particularly impressed with the Faroese supporters, as they cheered for their players throughout the entire match, even when the Faroes threw away a likely 1–1 result. Drums and trumpets are an essential part of their support

Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Faroe Island News


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings