Club Deportivo Leganés, S.A.D. is a Spanish football team from Leganés, in the outskirts of Madrid.

Founded on 23 June 1928 it plays in the Primera División, holding home games at Estadio Municipal de Butarque, which seats 12,450 spectators.

The club was officially founded on June 23, 1928, by Félix Pérez de la Serna. Its first president was Ramón del Hierro. However, the club had to suspend operations in 1936 due to the Spanish civil war, where they remained inactive until they reformed on September 4, 1946.

Leganés played the vast majority of its existence in the lower leagues. In 1977 the club regained promotion to the fourth division, where it had played before for seven years when the category was still the third level.

After a steady progression, Leganés reached the new division three in 1987, being promoted to the second division six years later and maintaining its league status for 11 seasons; during this timeframe, it collected two consecutive eighth places (best) from 1995–97.

In the 2015–16 season, for the first time in their history, Leganés earned a promotion to La Liga, which was sealed on 4 June 2016 with a 1–0 away win against CD Mirandés.

Their first season in the elite proved to be hard, with the team finishing 17th, barely avoiding relegation. Their next season ended similarly, again finishing 17th. The 2018-19 season was the best, however, in terms of ranking, with Leganes finishing 13th.

On 24 January 2018, Leganés qualified for the first time to the semifinals of the Copa del Rey, by eliminating Real Madrid in the quarterfinals thanks to a 2–1 win at Santiago Bernabéu Stadium.

The fans have friendly relations with ultras group Gate 12 of Egaleo FC, the towns of Egaleo and Leganés happen to be twinned too. Their biggest rival is Getafe with whom they contest the South Madrid derby.


Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Leganes News