Peru - Peru


Peru National Football Team represents Peru in men's international football governed by the Peruvian Football Federation

Head coach: Ricardo Gareca

Captain: Paolo Guerrero

Most caps: Roberto Palacios (128 appearances)

Top scorer: Paolo Guerrero (38 goals)

Home ground: Estadio Nacional

The Peru national team enjoyed its most successful periods in 1930 to the mid-1970s. In the 1930s, Peru took part in the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930 and enjoyed victories in the 1938 Bolivarian Games and the 1939 Copa América, with goalkeeper Juan Valdivieso and forwards Teodoro Fernández and Alejandro Villanueva playing important roles.

Peru qualified for three World Cups and won the Copa América in 1975, attaining worldwide recognition; the team then notably included defender Héctor Chumpitaz and the forward partnership of Hugo Sotil and Teófilo Cubillas, often regarded as Peru's greatest player.

Under manager Ricardo Gareca, Peru placed third at the 2015 Copa América, reached the quarter-finals of the Copa América Centenario, participated in the group stage of the 2018 FIFA World Cup finals, and earned second at the 2019 Copa América.





Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Peru News