Shooting Stars SC

Shooting Stars SC


Shooting Stars SC is a Nigerian football club based in Ibadan that was founded in 1972. Shooting Stars were formerly called WNDC Ibadan (Western Nigeria Development Company) and IICC (Industrial Investment and Credit Corporation).

The nickname "Shooting Stars" was added with the suggestion of team foundation members the late Jide Johnson and Niyi Omowon the "Aare Odan Liberty" (Generalissimo of Liberty Stadium) who believed that the players were "stars" in their own right.

Shooting Stars are one of the most followed football clubs in Nigeria and they play their home matches at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan. The stadium was named after one of the prominent supporters of the club who is now deceased. Before, "Sooting" as it is called by its supporters used to play at the famous Liberty Stadium, one of the venues for the 1999 FIFA Youth World Championship.

Shooting Stars have played and won many matches against top club sides in Africa. 3SC won the first edition of the CAF Cup, defeating the Nakivubo Villa of Uganda 3–0 in the finals at the Lekan Salami stadium after the first leg ended goallessly. They won the African Cup Winner in 1976, Shooting Stars became the first Nigerian club to win an international trophy.

Many well-known international stars have played for Shooting Stars in the past, including former African Footballer of the Year Rashidi Yekini, "the mathematical" Segun Odegbami, and so on. Notable players Rashidi Yekini, Segun Odegbami, Felix Owolabi, Niyi Akande, Taiwo Ogunjobi, Duke Udi, Olumide Harris, Golden Ajeboh, Ajibade Babalade, Ademola Johnson, and Jude Axelsson.

They ended their 2004–05 season in fifth place in the Premier League. After the introduction of a strange double-league format by the Nigerian Football Association, Shooting Stars got relegated to the lower division in 2006 but won promotion in 2009 after finishing second in Nigeria National League. They were relegated back on the last day of the 2017 NPFL season. Head Coach Edith Agoye and the rest of the 3SC Management board resigned in July 2019 after they lost a promotion playoff to Akwa Starlets.

Read more


Name Nationality Position Age


Name Nationality Age

Shooting Stars SC News


We have selected third parties to use cookies for technical purposes as specified in the Cookie Policy. Use the “Accept All” button to consent or “Customize” button to set your cookie tracking settings