Oyo state
  • History
  • Places
  • Institutes
  • Date Created February 03, 1976
  • Capital Ibadan
  • Governor Oluwaseyi Makinde
  • Land Area 28,454 sq km (10,986 sq mi)
  • Population 5,580,894
  • GDP $29.8 billion

History of Oyo

Oyo usually referred to as Oyo State to distinguish it from the city of Oyo, is an inland state in southwestern Nigeria, with its capital at Ibadan. It is bounded in the north by Kwara State, in the east by Osun State, in the south by Ogun State, and in the west partly by Ogun State and partly by the Republic of Benin.