Zamfara state
  • History
  • Places
  • Institutes
  • Date Created October 01, 1996
  • Capital Gusau
  • Governor Bello Muhammed Matawalle
  • Land Area 39,762 sq km (15,352 sq mi)
  • Population 3,278,873
  • GDP $4.12 billion

History of Zamfara

Zamfara is a state in northwestern Nigeria. Its capital is Gusau and its Governor is Bello Matawalle, a member of the People's Democratic Party (PDP). Until 1996, the area was part of Sokoto State.

Zamfara is populated with the Hausa and Fulani peoples. Major groups of people are the Zamfarawa mainly in Anka, Gummi, Bukkuyum, and Talata Mafara Local Governments areas. Gobirawa populated Shinkafi Local Government. Gobirawa actually migrated from the Gobir Kingdom. Burma is found in Bakura and Fulani peopled Bungudu, Maradun, Gusau and are scattered all over the State. In Tsafe, Bungudu and Maru Local Governments are mainly Katsinawa, Garewatawa, and Hadejawa. While Alibawa peopled Kaura Namoda and Zurmi.

The people of Zamfara have over the years struggled for autonomy, it was not until 1996 that the then military administration of the Late General Sani Abacha detached the Zamfara State from Sokoto State. With an area of 38,418 square kilometers, it is bordered in the North by the Niger Republic, to the South by Kaduna State. In the east, it is bordered by Katsina State and to the West by Sokoto and Niger States. It has a population of 3,278,873 according to the 2006 census and contains fourteen local government areas.